Borders League 2016/17


The Borders Road Running League was formed in 1983 by a number of new running clubs in North Wales and the western part of Cheshire. The aim was to provide inter-club competition between teams of member clubs on a competitive yet friendly basis. This philosophy continues today each winter with 7 races organised in rotation by member clubs for their members.

The first Borders League race was held on Sunday 4th November 1984 at Tattenhall using the quarter marathon course. There were 100 finishers. In 2015-16 the average number of finishers exceeded 310; the highest being an all-time record of 370.

In season 2016-17, the League comprises 17 clubs from across North Wales, Wirral and west Cheshire. The League remains primarily an inter-club competition, although there are awards for individuals within their age groups. Clubs interested in joining should contact the Secretary on, applications are discussed at the AGM.

The League races are an opportunity for runners at all levels to compete on a regular basis, a chance to test yourself against runners from other clubs at a similar level, improving performance in an affordable but challenging arena, creating and maintaining friendships between like-minded individuals.

The League holds seven races per season, generally between October and April. Each race is between 5 miles and 6.21miles (8 to 10 km) except for the final race which is around 4 miles (6.5km). Races, except the final race, are held at 11.00 on Sunday mornings, the dates and venues being agreed at the AGM. Each race is organised by a member club, all member clubs organising races in turn (agreed at the AGM). The final race is generally on a Wednesday evening and is followed by the presentation of awards.

At the end of each race the scores are collected by individual clubs and returned to the Results Secretary to be collated. They are published on the Borders League Website.

The League is managed by the member clubs. A committee consisting of a Chairman, Honorary Treasurer, Honorary Secretary and Results Secretary is elected by the clubs annually at the AGM – generally held on the first Monday in July of every year. Each club pays an annual subscription to the league, the amount being set at the AGM.